Rose buds

The roses just started blooming in my garden over the last week, but while waiting for my favorite spring show, I’ve been watching the buds, which are sometimes as interesting as the flowers.

Crested Moss, or Chapeau de Napoleon (Napoleon’s Hat) is a sweet-smelling bright pink centifolia type rose named for its elaborate buds.

Image

Crested Moss or Chapeau de Napoleon

Experts disagree over whether Crested Moss is a true moss rose, an old rose class distinguished by the soft, “mossy,” pine-scented growth around their buds. Mme. Louis Leveque is definitely a moss. These fat buds open slowly to reveal pretty pink flowers.

Image

Mme Louis Leveque

To me, some non-moss roses have a more “piney” scent in the tiny, soft, sticky prickles around their buds. Botzaris is classified as a Damask, but it has lovely buds that release a strong pine scent when you handle them. It is often the first rose to bloom in my garden, and, along with its strong, old rose scent, that makes it one of my favorites.

Image

Botzaris

Another rose with beautiful, pine-scented buds is alba foliacea. There may be more than one version of this rose is commerce, but I got mine from Vintage Gardens before they closed their doors. Its name comes from its leafy buds.

Image

Alba Foliacea

Finally, I think the rose in my garden with the wildest buds is Vick’s Caprice. It’s a nice rose with subtle pink striping and a decent scent–unfortunately not terribly cold hardy–but these buds are something else.

Image

Vick’s Caprice

About eabwheeler

Freelance writer mainly working on projects about history, historic preservation, and children and nature. I'm also venturing into historical fiction and fantasy. I have graduate degrees in history and landscape architecture. I like gardening, sewing, folk music, and rainy afternoons with a good book. My debut novel, a Victorian paranormal mystery, THE HAUNTING OF SPRINGETT HALL, will be available in print and ebook July 14, 2015 from Cedar Fort Publishing.
This entry was posted in Plants in historical gardens and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

